Realising Home Sickness

Currently I am two weeks through a three week holiday in Japan. I have traveled around 12 hours on planes, walked over 30 kms and had easily 25 train rides ranging from 3 minutes to 3 hours in duration. My three friends and I have gotten on the wrong trains, walked to the wrong cities and found ourself stuck behind many language barriers. These are all problems that most people would expect when planning for a holiday. But to be honest with you the most difficult hurdle was one I was never warned about and that was leaving the one person I love most.

 

For most of my life I have been used to having at least one bedroom empty in our house. Whether in the beginning it was my dad being away for work, my brother being off every night doing who-knows-what or eventually the nights I spent away from mum when my parents split. There was never really a point when I went away where I experienced “home sickness”. Instead I usually thrived in the knowledge that no one around me knew who I was or cared what I was doing. There was no preconceived ideas about the was I should act or the presence I should hold. Although I love my family, I sometimes need my space from them and exploring became that thing.

 

Fast forward to this year and I am getting ready to go to Japan with my best friend (we met on the first day of year eight and from very early on we’re dead-set on seeing Japan together), her boyfriend and cousin. This trip had been planned for years and I thought would be the highlight of my year. But it seems that I’m not always right and a few days after the new year I met the most incredible person in my life. In the short time I’ve known him he has stayed by my side through flashbacks, sat with me past sunrise to make sure I was safe, spent every moment possible alongside me during a hospital admission and let me spend every day with him since. I had prepared myself for every possible hardship when I left to go to Japan, but I hadn’t prepared for love.

 

Although it currently feels like I am missing a part of me, it has taught me just how lucky I am. I have been able to find someone so special that I know what it’s like to miss home. So this is a thank you to the person who has changed me and my life for the better. No matter what unfolds from here you have taught me more about life and love than you may ever understand. Missing you has been a privilege and coming home to you will be an honour.

Leave a Reply

